South Australia Star Hub Schools

The Star Hub schools have been identified and selected by the Director Pedagogy and Leadership from the team Teaching and Learning Services of the South Australian Department for Education and Child Development.

They are all participants in the Local Partnerships TfEL PILOT (Teaching for Effective Learning) a state initiative leading and developing work to utilise authentic student voice and participation in the co-design of learning.

Craigmore High School

Craigmore High School is a coeducational state secondary school serving 949 students, including:

  • 7% students having English as an additional language
  • 7% students from an Indigenous background
  • 150 students with Negotiated Education Plans

The school has strong links with the University of SA including orientation courses, learning coaches and other mentoring programs. As a ‘trade school for the future’ site, the school engages students in a range of industry-accredited training programs, working in partnership with local secondary schools, employers, TAFE and other registered training providers. The school is also involved in the TfEL Pilot as a base site.

Gilles Street Primary School

Gilles Street Primary School is located in the Adelaide CBD and serves 383 students, including:

  • 58% students having English as an additional language
  • 3% students from an Indigenous background

The school also has an Intensive Language Centre, which provides an intensive English program a diverse range of students who represent more than 40 cultural backgrounds. In 2013 the school continued collaboration with Microsoft as part of the Alumni Schools Project, working on embedding 21st Century Learning Design across the curriculum. The school was also involved in the TfEL Pilot, and formed an inquiry on Developing Powerful Learners by using student voice and engagement.

Morphett Vale Primary School

Morphett Vale Primary School is a new school development initiated through the Education Works – Stage 2 program. The new school has been created through the merger of Morphett Vale West Primary School, John Morphett Primary School and John Morphett Preschool and began operation from the beginning of the 2011 school year. There is a high turnover of transient families which impacts considerably on the provision of an effective educational program for these students but the school has a strong focus on literacy, numeracy and wellbeing with an emphasis on high expectations, explicit teaching and innovation and consistency with pedagogy.

The school has an enrolment of 275 students, including:

  • 4% students having English as an additional language
  • 5% students from an Indigenous background

Morphett Vale Primary School is committed to ongoing work in implementing the ‘Teaching for Effective Learning Framework’ (TfEL) in 2014. The framework assists our leaders and teachers to effectively implement the Australian Curriculum and develop a consistent and innovative approach to teaching and learning across the school.

Murray Bridge High School

Murray Bridge High School is located 75km east of Adelaide and serves 1073 students, including:

  • 7% students having English as an additional language
  • 11% students from an Indigenous background

The Adelaide Hills Murraylands Trade School for the Future is also located on the school’s main campus and provides access to learning that leads to jobs in mineral resources, agribusiness, multi-trades, community services and other industry sectors in the region where there is a growing demand for skilled workers. As a TfEL Pilot school, all teaching staff use the National Professional Standards for Teachers and the TfEL Framework extensively to guide their practice.

Mypolonga Primary School

Mypolonga Primary School serves approximately 137 students. The school has a strong focus on enterprise learning, with all classes participating in enterprising activities culminating in the Mypolonga Primary School Shop. In 2009 the shop won third prize nationally in a ‘Women’s’ Weekly competition, a Community Initiative of the Year in the Rural City of Murray Bridge Australia Day award and the NAB ‘Schools First’ award of $50,000. In 2011 the school was also awarded a DECD Public Teaching Award ($20 000) for Innovative Engagement with Business and the Community as well being recognised by the OECD as an Innovative Learning Environment. The school was selected by DECD to participate in the TfEL Pilot for three years.

Murray Bridge High School and Mypolonga Primary School have formed a strong partnership and are participating together in the Star Hubs initiative.

Seaview High School

Seaview High School is a coeducational state secondary school in the southern suburbs of Adelaide serving 600 students, including –

  • 15% students having English as an additional language
  • 5% students from an Indigenous background

The school received $2.5 million in Government Funding towards the development of Seaview as a Science, Technology, Engineering (STEM) and Advanced Technology focus school. The school was also chosen for a three year Teaching for Effective Learning (TfEL) Pilot which involved the appointment of a full time TfEL Pilot leader in the school to work with teachers and students on 21st Century teaching and learning. The focus of the Pilot has been using student voice to accelerate improvement and is providing insight for all school communities in South Australia.
Seaview High School is committed to the following:

  • Having high expectations
  • All students can learn and progress with appropriate time and support
  • Quality feedback is vital for the development of learning and moving students to higher level of achievement.